

STATEMENT ON THE RESIGNATION OF MEMBERS OF CABINET AND DEPUTY MINISTERS

President Thabo Mbeki has, to date, received letters of resignation from the following members of Cabinet which, regretfully, he has had to accept:

- 1. Deputy President
- 2. Minister of Defence
- 3. Minister of Finance
- 4. Minister in the Presidency, Dr. Essop Pahad
- 5. Minister of Intelligence
- 6. Minister of Correctional Services
- 7. Minister of Public Enterprises
- 8. Minister of Science and Technology
- 9. Minister of Public Works
- 10. Minister of Provincial and Local Government
- 11. Minister of Public Service and Administration

The following Deputy Ministers have also tendered their resignations:

- 1. Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr. Aziz Pahad
- 2. Deputy Minister of Finance and
- 3. Deputy Minister of Correctional Services

The resignations will be effective from the day that the President's resignation takes effect. All the Ministers have expressed their availability to assist the incoming administration in the hand-over process and any other assistance that might be sought from them. President Mbeki thanked the Deputy President, the Ministers and the Deputy Ministers for their dedicated service to the nation and wished them well in their future endeavours.

For more information, please contact: Mukoni Ratshitanga on (012) 300 5436/ +27 82 300 3447

ISSUED BY THE PRESIDENCY ON 23 SEPTEMBER 2008 THE UNION BUILDINGS